A BIG THANK YOU TO THE WSTCSS ORGANIZERS

November 17, 2008. Barry Cauchon:

This past weekend I was priveledged to speak at the Western Southern Tier Council of the Social Studies conference in Corning, New York. It was hosted, and attended, by a wonderful group of professional history educators whose conference goal was to teach, learn, share and go away with ideas that they can use in their students’ education. I was proud to be a part of it.

My role was to present “A Little Touch of History’ in a live format. I did this in two-parts. First, I shared content and stories from my professional life as a Senior Project Manager in the corporate, museum and tour exhibit industry. I focused on three projects: the Montreal Holocaust Memorial Centre, Princess Diana: A Celebration and Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs (the King Tut tour).

The second part of my presentation was to pass out real artifacts to the audience and explain my belief that history should be interactive. If the students can experience history by way of ‘touch and tell’, rather than ‘show and tell’, I believe that it will spur them on to deeper interest in the subjects and lead to further study on their own. In real life, this approach has always worked for me and so I think that it will do the same for the students.

I enjoyed the conference and met a lot of great people and can’t say how happy I was to be a part of the event.

My personal thanks go out to the WSTCSS Executive Committee (see below) for having me. And especially, I want to thank Tom Jackson (Treasurer) and his wife, Christine for their hospitality and on-going warm and wonderful friendships. These things I find grateful to have in my life. 

Message to Students: For student visitors to this blog, I learned something very important this weekend. Your teachers really care about you! All weekend long, I overheard them talking to other teachers about their classes and would hear them say things like, “My kids are great!” and “My kids did this last week!”. They are really proud of you. So keep up the good work. And while you are at it, be proud of your teachers too.

Message to Teachers: Keep on rockin’!

The Western Southern Tier Council for the Social Studies Executive Committee

copy20of20board202

http://www.wstcss.org/site_files/template.php?ID=1

Thanks for having me.

Best

Barry

outreach@awesometalks.com

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://awesometalks.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/a-big-thank-you-to-the-wstcss-organizers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

