TODAY I MET THE PRESIDENT

November 26, 2008: Barry Cauchon

As many of you know, I volunteer for an organization called the Power Within that puts on high-powered speaker events. Today, we hosted President Bill Clinton in London, Ontario, Canada. I have volunteered at two previous Clinton speeches (one on November 13, 2007 and the other on October 16, 2008) and so this time, I think the folks at the Power Within wanted to give me a ‘thank you’ surprise. So they assigned me to work with the photographer in the Pre-Show Photo Op session. This is a 20 minute period where about 100 pre-paid patrons come to get their pictures taken with the President.

So there we were, set up and ready to go in a small 10′ x 10′ room, with the 100 people lined up just outside, waiting for their opportunity. Inside the room was me, the photographer, another volunteer colleague Louise, and 2 to 3 other sponsor reps. Except for Louis and me, everyone was in either a suit or dress. Louise and I were wearing bright blue STAFF tops. We kind of stood out in the sea of suits!!!

After about a half-hour delay, the room began to quickly fill with secret service, additional sponsor reps and President Clinton’s advance team members. All in all, there were now probably about 15 people in this tiny little room.

Finally President Clinton entered the room to my right. He looked around and then walked over to Louise and me and greeted us. After saying hi to Louise, he stepped in front of me, shook my hand and said “Hello. Nice to see you”. “Nice to see you too, Mr. President. Have a great day!” was my reply. WOW. That was totally unexpected.

Other than the 100 people that were about to come in and get their pictures taken with him, we were the only two he greeted. So cool! Anyway, I got to then spend the next 20 minutes standing within 6 feet of the President watching him work with the various people who came to get their pictures taken with him. He is warm and inviting and of course, very personable. It was a great gift and I want to thank my friends at the Power Within for doing this for me. www.powerwithin.com.

As a transplanted American citizen living in Canada, it was a very proud moment for me to meet the President of the United States. Up until seeing President Clinton give his speech last November, I had only seen one other President speak live, and that was LBJ. In 1965, when I was a cub scout, I saw LBJ give a live speech at Langley Air force Base in Hampton, Virginia. It left quite an impression on me.

So years later, I’ve now actually met the President of the United States. And I did it by just being a volunteer and giving my time and energy to an organization that brings great speakers to the public. You never know where things will lead you to, but for me, look what happened! It was great.

Thanks for letting me share.

Best

Barry

outreach@awesometalks.com

Published in: on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 at '7:21 pm'  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://awesometalks.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/today-i-met-the-president/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great Blog post. I am going to bookmark and read more often. I love the Blog template if you need any assistance customizing it let me know!

  2. I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

  3. I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    :-)

  4. A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks

  5. I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  6. Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

  7. Just wanted to say HI. I found your blog a few days ago on Technorati and have been reading it over the past few days.

  8. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

  9. Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  10. I’ve been reading along for a while now. I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work.

  11. […] TODAY I MET THE PRESIDENT November 26, 2008: Barry Cauchon As many of you know, I volunteer for an organization called the Power Within that puts on high-powered speaker events. Today, we hosted President Bill Clinton in London, Ontario, Canada. I have volunteered at two previous Clinton speeches (one on November 13, 2007 and the other on October 16, 2008) and so this time, I think the folks at the Power Within wanted to give me a ‘thank you’ surprise. So they assigned me to work with the photographer in the Pre-Show Pho […]

  12. Hi Jamie: So nice to hear from you. It isn’t often that someone sends me 16 comments all at once. LOL. They were all greatly appreciated. I hope you don’t mind that I removed a few of the repetitive ones for sake of shortening the entries, but I assure you that I read each and every one! Thank so much for you kind words and interest in my blog.

    So let me address some of your questions and comments so I don’t forget them.

    1. First of all, can you email me at outreach@awesometalks.com and tell me a little about yourself. I’d like to know what part of the country you are in and what got you started on writing your blog? I’d really like to know.

    2. The blog design that I use is actually a WordPress template called QUENTIN designed by Mike Purdy. The color scheme and layout really fit what I was looking for. If I have a complaint, it is the managing of the side bar. I find it is not very clean and easy to navigate with. I apologize to all my readers for this but my technical background to adjust this is not seasoned enough to fix this at this time. I do appreciate your offer Jamie to assist me with this, and I may just take you up on it.
    I am also wanting to create a web site to accent this blog but just can’t seem to get a web page designed to fit it. This is mostly because I’m not exactly sure of the direction I want to take it in. I already have a host site waiting for me, I just have to actually get something together to post on it. LOL. Any advice would be helpful here. Thanks.

    3. Blogroll. Absolutely. I’ll add you to mine today. I reviewed your site and am looking forward to finding some time to read some of your articles. That will happen soon I’m sure. And yes, you can add me to your blogroll as well. Thanks again.

    Please don’t forget to write me.
    Have a great day.
    Best
    Barry

  13. […] today i met the president […]


Leave a Reply

