MICKEY MOUSE, THE 80 YEAR OLD CARTOON RODENT

December 3, 2008: Barry Cauchon

I received a comment from a reader MICKEY MOUSE BIRTHDAY today. It was buried deep under one of my many postings. It sparked my interest enough to re-post it here.

200px-mickey_mouse_svg

But first, let me give you a little background on this subject. Mickey Mouse officially turned 80 years old on November 18, 2008. I believe the comment below was probably triggered by an article I wrote about Abraham Lincoln’s voice. He had a high pitched voice and it always made me laugh when I thought about how Disney had portrayed President Lincoln in their Hall of Presidents exhibit. He was featured with a deep and commanding Presidential voice rather than the high pitched voice he actually had. I compared him to Mickey Mouse. So I assume the comment below continued in that vein. Have fun with the subject and comment away.

MICKEY MOUSE BIRTHDAY– “So the Disney conglomerate says Mickey Mouse is 80 years old today. Big whoop. This probably is un-American and may bring me some angry e-mail, but I never liked Mickey Mouse. I never liked his squeaky voice!”

BARRY – “Hi NON-Mickey Mouse fan. On November 18, 2008, Disney did indeed celebrate Mickey Mouse’s 80th birthday. I’m glad you wrote because it is history. And sharing your opinion of your dislike of Mickey Mouse is honest and certainly non-offensive. Yes, you may get some opposing opinions on the subject, but that’s what makes life go around. It is always good to stir up a debate. For the record, I was never a Donald Duck fan because I could never understand his garbled speaking manner. If I had a preference for any cartoon fowl, Daffy was my guy”!

BARRY – “I want to say here that I will always thank Walt Disney for creating Mickey Mouse. One of the greatest gifts I ever gave my daughter (at the time she was 4) was to have her meet Mickey Mouse at Disney World. Mickey was her first celebrity crush and to actually meet him was a thrill for her that she talked about for some time afterwards. Thanks so much for that Walt”.          

Best

Barry

outreach@awesometalks.com

Published in: on Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at '11:46 am'  Comments (15)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://awesometalks.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/mickey-mouse-the-80-year-old-cartoon-rodent/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wrote about Mickey Mouse’s birthday, too…
    Here: http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/mickey-is-80/

  2. Hi folks: For those who don’t know Tokyo 5, it is a family of 5 living in Tokyo. The father of this wonderful family is a transplanted American who was born in Mississippi and raised in Florida. He went to Japan at age 20. If you get a chance, take a look at his blog and website. It’s really cool.
    Thanks for commenting.
    Barry

  3. Well, thanks for the kind introduction! I wasn’t expecting that.

  4. I only have one contact in Japan and that was you! LOL. So I remembered our previous conversations.
    I hope all is well at home and that the upcoming holidays treat you and your family well.
    Best
    Barry

  5. Thanks. Yes, we’re fine.
    And I hope you have a nice xmas and new years, too.
    (New Years, by the way, is Japan’s biggest holiday. I wrote about Japanese holidays here: http://www3.ocn.ne.jp/~tokyo5/faq.html#holidays )

    I look forward to reading your interview with Robert Krauss (especially since it’s Japan-related).

    BTW, I did an interview with a WWII pilot. Do you know Jerry Yellin?
    My interview with him is here:
    http://www3.ocn.ne.jp/~tokyo5/interviews.html#yellin-j

    Thanks again…
    “Tokyo Five”
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/

    • Hi TF: I am anxious too for the Robert Krauss’ interview to go live. It was a great first chat with him and I can’t wait to share it with everyone. I did read your inteview with Jerry Yellin. How cool is that! It’s really something when we can share this kind of history and culture with our readers. It was a great job. I wish I could make my interviews shorter like yours. But once I start asking the questions, I get so into the conversation that I keep asking more and more, well beyond what was planned. In my case, ‘More is More’! LOL.
      Please folks, if you get a chance to visit Tokyo 5, it’s a really nice site and you’ll learn a lot from our friends over there.
      Best
      Barry

  6. >I did read your inteview with Jerry Yellin.

    Thanks. Not as comprehensive as your interviews, though.

    BTW, I wrote a bit about the anniversary of the Pearl Harbor attack.
    Here:
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/12/08/december-8th/

    Feel free to comment.

  7. Hi Bob: Nice to hear from you. I actually really liked your interview with Jerry Yellin. It was an interesting change in his life from hating Japan to finding a new appreciation for the people and their culture. It’s amazing. Thanks for sharing that. I enjoyed it.
    I’ll stop by and leave a comment soon.
    B

  8. Thanks! (and I was surprised you called me by my first name! I guess you saw one of my parents’ or my sisters’ comments in which they write my name…)

    I look forward to your comments on my blog!

  9. This post was accidently attached to the wrong article. Here you go.

    December 9, 2008 @ 8:12am

    Name: mickey mouse s birthday
    Email: contact@newsandweb.com
    URL: http://www.newsandweb.com/mickey+mouse+s+birthday.html

    One of Disney’s best known characters is celebrating his 80th birthday. Mickey Mouse first graced the silver screen back in 1928 – when his profile and personality were decidedly more rat-like than the loveable mouse we know today.

    Co-created by Walt Disney himself, Mickey was originally named Mortimer.

    Mickey was created during a difficult time when Walt was the head of a struggling two man studio.

  10. Thanks for the info. Mortimer the Mouse. It has a nice ring to it but not as lovable as Mickey.
    Best
    Barry

  11. Thanks for commenting on my blog.
    I replied. Here:
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/08/15/august-15/#comment-981

  12. My pleasure Bob. More to come.
    Best
    Barry

  13. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read….

  14. Mickey Mouse has been an icon for so many generations now. I can’t believe 80 years on and we’re still watching him as well as the other famous Disney characters.


Leave a Reply

