HAPPY 1ST ANNIVERSARY FOR ‘A LITTLE TOUCH OF HISTORY’

May 22, 2009: Barry Cauchon

Happy 1st Anniversary

It's a celebration. A Little Touch of History is 1 year old.

On Friday, May 22 my blog “A Little Touch of History: An Awesometalks Program” celebrated its 1 year anniversary. And what an amazing year it has been for me. What started out as a simple outlet for me to share my varying interests in history with others, blossomed into something that I never expected. Not only was I able to share these interests with everyone, but in due course, I learned an incredible amount as well. Researchers (amateurs and professionals), experts , hobbyists and students were approaching me and offering ‘private’ history lessons that sped up my learning curve immensely. And where appropriate, I shared that information with you in hopes that you would benefit from it in the same way as I did. I cannot even begin to express how wonderful an experience this has been for me.

In the past year I have found myself quietly being accepted and nutured by members of the Lincoln research community and treated like a peer. That fact still astounds me. For years I put many of these ‘giants’ on pedestals because I truly respected the work they did and presented to the world. Yet, every one of them have been kind to me and have always willingly shared their time and information openly. To each of you I say, “Thank you”.

This year also brought me new friends and aquaintances. For me, that was one of the best benefits of all. I truly cherish those that have written, chatted, exchanged ideas and even corrected my historical mistakes (you know I hate inaccurate history and can’t stand promoting it myself). Best of all, I made a few really close friends and hope to have them in my life for years to come. So again, thank you all.

Finally, I’ve had some pretty big highlights this year. Not all were related to this blog but I truly believe in serendipity so they are connected in some way. For this reason, all the planets must have aligned and things have just been “happening”.  For instance, I met President Clinton last November. That was a proud moment for me. I’ve interviewed some awesome people who either work with history, discovered history or amazingly even lived history. And yesterday, on the eve of this one year anniversary, I finally met my friend, the mysterious Mr. P. (you’ll have to find his name in my blog if you want to know more about him). In my opinion, Mr. P. is really the person who helped put this blog on the map and kick start it into the direction it currently follows. He is a unique person and one of the most interesting people I’ve ever met. He’s now a good friend and someone who I spiritually connect with. I believe things happen for a reason. It isn’t coincidence that both our schedules fell into place at the same time, that I would be in his hometown on business and then end up meeting with him exactly one year after the blog began. Eerie but inevitable. Anyway Mr. P…..here’s to you my friend. Thanks for helping me to move this train down the track and keeping me laughing constantly!  

And thank you to everyone who has been a part of A Little Touch of History’s success, whether as a contributor or visitor. All were, and are, very important to me. I can’t wait to see what the next year brings.

Best

Barry

outreach@awesometalks.com

Published in: on Friday, May 22, 2009 at '9:56 pm'  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://awesometalks.wordpress.com/2009/05/22/happy-1st-anniversary-for-a-little-touch-of-history/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

